Planting Self Love Seeds

“It’s all about falling in love with yourself and sharing that love with someone who appreciates you, rather than looking for love to compensate for a self love deficit.”
― Eartha Kitt

A friend recently issued a challenge on social media that everyone should try to name 50 things they love about themselves. As a person who struggles with self acceptance some days, this much self love seemed impossible. Truthfully, it still does. But every journey starts with a choice to move forward, no matter how gradual the progress. My personal goal is currently to name 5 things a week for 10 weeks. I challenge anyone who actually reads this to try the same, obviously adjusting the goal as you see fit. Maybe with enough practice the task won’t seem as daunting. Stay tuned here for a weekly update of how I’m doing.

This week’s list:

  1. I love my legs. Toned without conscious intention, killer in heels, long but not overly so, strong and soft at the same time.
  2. I love my tattoos. Each one holds a meaning for me and decorates the canvas of my skin.
  3. I love my extensive vocabulary. I’m seldom left searching for a better word, and when I am, I make it a point to find it. I like expanding my eloquence and developing stronger communication skills.
  4. I love my sinful enjoyment of foods that are absolutely terrible for me. I’ve had such a difficult relationship with food (and still do at times), so feeling comfortable feeding my body things like cheeseburgers and loaded mashed potatoes is a treat that I cherish.
  5. I love my ability to get emotionally invested in the lives of fictional characters. The way I can just immerse myself in a fictional world as a means of escape is powerful. I’d like to thank my parents for this, for always encouraging me to read and never discouraging my love of television and movies.

That’s where I am this week. Let me know if you join in on the challenge, I’d love to see what everyone else loves about themselves. May we all learn to plant seeds of self love that bloom into a garden that we don’t mind exploring leisurely.

Leave a Reply

